Seattle DUI License Suspension
As a Washington driver’s license holder arrested for a DUI, you will be subjected to a driver’s license suspension. This license suspension will come from the from the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) and will be a minimum of 90 days.
DOL License Suspension
Even if you are proven not guilty after going to court, the DOL will still take what they call “administrative action” to suspend or revoke your license. The length of the suspension is determined by several factors, including age, number of past offenses, and blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of arrest. If you refused the breath test when arrested, the DOL may revoke your license for at least a year.
Along with the DOL license suspension, you may be required to get SR-22 insurance for three years to prove financial responsibility.
Fighting the DOL License Suspension
You will have the option to fight the DOL license suspension. To do this, the DOL “Driver’s Hearing Request” form must be filled out and turned in before the deadline. There will also be fees associated with the request process.
There are a few important things to keep in mind when fighting the license suspension or revocation. You must file the request by mailing the form to the DOL within 20 days of the date of notice along with a check for $375.00 (waivable if indigent).
If the deadline is missed or you take no action, the DOL will suspend or revoke your license. The license suspension may be put into an effect even if you have strong legal defense and/or you are found innocent of the DUI charge in court.
Ignition Interlock Device License
As of 2009, Washington law says an individual does have the option to apply for an ignition interlock device (IID) license if their license is suspended. By installing an IID in your vehicle you will be able to drive that vehicle even if your license is suspended. A Seattle DUI defense attorney that is experienced in DOL procedures and law can be a huge help in fighting your license suspension.
License Suspension After DUI Conviction
On top of the DOL administrative suspension, a Seattle DUI conviction may carry an additional license suspension. For first time convictions, the minimum additional license suspension is 90 days if the BAC reading is under .15. If the reading is over .15, your license will be revoked for a minimum of one year. If a breath test was refused, a minimum two-year suspension will be sentenced. If the arrestee has been convicted of multiple convictions, the suspensions can be significantly longer.
Work with an Experienced Seattle DUI Lawyer
At Leyba Defense, we have been able to help hundreds of individuals recover from DUI charges, have charges dropped, and achieve mitigated sentences. We would be happy to be your resource during your DUI arrest and conviction as well. Contact our team to learn more.